55 By 55….Week 6

  FOOD FOR THE SOUL

photo credit:zazzle.com

I am thinking at this point that I set the bar too high by shooting for 55 by 55….perhaps 10 by 55?  This has been far been the most exasperating thing I have done in my life, and believe me when I tell you that I have done some extremely exasperating things in the past 54 years.  In 1 week I managed to gain back all that I had lost, PLUS 2.  Then I decided on Monday that I was a failure and kicked my own arse…..causing me to once again take this adventure seriously.  This morning at weigh in I lost 1 whole pound from last weeks weigh in.  The weather has been lousy this week (my only excuse for not walking) with high freezing winds for 3 days in a row.  I want spring to get here so badly…..so I guess it’s Mother Natures fault that I have only lost one pound this week!

On a positive note….I am keeping steady with my water consumption.  Still no caffine for this girlie! I will say that without my caffine I feel like someone took the “giddy” out of my giddy up!  I enjoyed a diet A & W root beer at the mall the other day.  I had it without ice and it reminded me of going to A&W as a kid when the root beer was served in frosty mugs.  (I will say that instead of a chili cheese dog and fries to go along with the root beer, I had orange chicken and white rice. )  Last night I had strawberries to use up, so I made a Strawberry Cream Cheese Cobbler for dessert.  I would like to point out that I took most of it to work to share and did not enjoy a piece myself.  I guess that was an accomplishment for me.  It’s hard when you love to cook and bake….but my co-workers enjoy the benefits and I get to bake.  A win-win situation for all!  On to a new week…because I will not give up!  Thats all folks ♥

FOOD FOR THE  BODY

Strawberry Cream Cheese Cobbler

1 stick of butter

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 quarts strawberries, cut up into small bite size pieces

4 oz cream cheese

Preheat oven in 350 degrees

Melt butter and pour in bottom of 13 x 9 pan.

Mix up the egg, flour, sugar, milk, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.

Pour onto the melted butter, but do not mix.

Sprinkle the strawberries on top of the mixture.

Cut off small chunks of the cream cheese and place throughout the mixture *on top

Bake for 45 minutes, although in my oven it took about 35 minutes.

The cake rises over the fruit, while some of it is still visible.

PS……it was decided that it would be great served warm with a scoop of ice cream.

One response to “55 By 55….Week 6

  1. Pingback: 55 By 55….Week 6 | Shelly's Stories

Leave a Reply

