55 by 55……Week 3

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

photo credit:funnytimes.com

Hmmmm……what can I say about the last week?  It continues to be an hour by hour struggle, but I have come to the realization that this will be a long, drawn out process.  I may have bit off more than I can chew with my goal of 55 by 55.  Still I am not going to give up like I have in the past.  I have been unable to get out and walk due to the snow and freezing rain we have had this week….yep, that’s the best excuse I can come up with.  I realize that this is going to be a lifestyle change, not a “diet’…..and it is true that old habits are hard to break.  I am becoming more aware of the foods that I choose, and am trying to eat when I am hungry, not when the clock says it’s time to eat.  I have been continuing to drink water (which is really new to me,) and have had a few Diet Sierra Mists this past week.  One thing I have noticed is that I no longer have the beginnings of “cankles”….all of the ankle bones are now clearly visible.  🙂 Apparently I stored fluid in my feet and ankles….but no more.  I strongly feel this is due to the fact that I am avoiding so much extra sodium from the diet colas….Who knew?  Our “snack counter,” as the kids used to refer to, is no longer filled with chips, crackers, fruit rollups, and all of the other high calorie snacks, and has been slowly replaced with pretzels, apples, oranges, bananas, and fiber bars.  Again….who knew?  I readily admit that I cheat….but I eat healthier and healthier every day.  I have spied something called a portion control plate, but since I am too much of tight wad, I will take the idea and draw invisible lines on my plate to fill it accordingly. Again….baby steps.

My daughter Katelyn, my coworker Diane, and I have loosely formed  a “Biggest Loser” competition at work.  We will weigh in on Thursdays, and use the formula to measure our losses.  There will now be a little money on the line, so the competition will be fierce.  You know you are good friends when each of you knows the others weights.  Of course, we all agree that anyone who reveals another’s weight in public will be severely dealt with…and hell hath no fury like a woman on a diet.  Today was weigh in day….and I lost 3 pounds from last week.  This amazes me because I really don’t feel like I have lost any weight at this point…..but I will take it.  I guess that just leaves 49.5 pounds by 55.  So here’s to another week of life long changes, and another week of fighting off the urges to eat when I am not hungry, and hopefully next Thursday I will have another loss to report.  Nobody said that life was easy, and I have faced challenges much worse than this I guess.  Wish me (us) luck ♥

4 responses to “55 by 55……Week 3

  1. Way to go!! I think you are doing this right! Taking baby steps and making little changes like you are doing are making you realize little things; which when they are all together, will mean a big change!! You are becoming aware!! Great job cuz!! Proud of you!!

    • Thanks Kerri….everyday is a challenge and then I feel proud at the same time when I choose to start out the next day with my goal in mind. Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

