55 by 55….week 2

photo credit: pixiesmusing.blogspot

FOOD FOR THE SOUL 

Well, week two has come to a close.  I knew it would be a fight, but didn’t realize that the fight would be from hour to hour.  To make things worse, I decided to give up Diet Coke for Lent.  Which is weird because I am not even Catholic.  I have never had a cup of coffee in my life, so I get my caffeine from Diet Coke, and lots of it.  I was raised with a Sweet Shop in my hometown, so I was introduced to the liquid heaven at an early age.  After I got married and moved 15 miles away I would find myself returning “home” and getting quarts of it to bring back and enjoy throughout the day.  In 1996 a chap from my hometown opened a Sweet Shop here, so there was no longer a need to trek north for a “fix.”  My family purchase the business in 2002, and for 7 years I was literally like a kid in the candy store.  I had access to all of the fountain diet coke I could drink.  Plus, when a Diet Coke is combined with crushed ice, and topped with marshmallow cream it is like…..whats the word…..heaven!  I have been hooked, and hooked bad for many many years.  So at this point since I am not only attempting to lose 55 pounds by September, I figured I would just throw my body in a super-duper tizzy by depriving it of caffeine.

Here is how my week has gone so far….I woke up 2 times in the middle of the night with a raging headache, but once I went back sleep the headaches went away.  I was ready for bed at 7pm the first 4 nights….and now can manage to make it to 10:30 now.  I have never put so much water in my body as I have this week.  My kidneys are as happy as they have ever been.  I used to joke that water gave me gas :-), but actually the Activia that I have begun eating seems to be the culprit…. I have walked out into the country 3 times this week, and am able to go farther each time.  The first time I walked I could hardly stumble up the front steps, and even my back fat hurt.  No pain to mention now, but still some shortness of breath at the beginning of the activity.  I carry my dads walking stick when I walk and his spirit seems to channel through me as a sign of encouragement.  I have noticed that since I have begun drinking water I don’t snack as much.  I think I associated snack foods with my cola, and when I do snack I seem to crave fruit.  Who in the world is this person?

I am now ready to take on week 3, and for the most part I am starting to think like a healthy person, even though there isn’t a soul on this earth who realizes that I lost……….yes lost………… 2.5 pounds this week!!!!!!!  WHOO HOOOOOOO!!!!!! or as the brave Marines say “OORAH!!!!!! ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

Baked Fried Chicken

(kinda tastes like KFC)

Heat oven to 400 degrees

Place thawed chicken tenderloins in a bowl, cover with milk, and let soak for 20- 30 minutes

Melt 1/2 stick of butter in a 9 x 13 pan (in the preheating oven)

Be sure the butter is spread over the entire bottom of the pan.  Spray if necessary to avoid sticking.

In a gallon bag or a large bowl mix together:

1 cup flour

1 tsp. salt

1 Tablespoon Season All

3/4 tsp. pepper

2 tsp. paprika

Remove chicken from the milk, and dredge in the flour coating.

When the butter is melted, place tenderloins side by side in the 9 x 13 pan.

Bake for 20 minutes, turn chicken over and bake 2o minutes more.

Note:  you have to use the exact seasonings or it looks bland and doesn’t taste as good.

One response to “55 by 55….week 2

  1. Pingback: 55 by 55….week 2 | Shelly's Stories

Leave a Reply

