The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

212 I am so happy because my very favorite time of the year is finally here.  I love love love the Christmas season.  I am one of those people who drive my fellow “grinches” bonkers.  I could not wait until the day after Thanksgiving to turn on my favorite stations in the car that play Christmas songs all day until December 26th.  Then I stay up until midnight on Christmas day in order to hear the final Christmas song of the year played on the radio.  This year I had all of my shopping done and the house decorated before December 1st.  This is totally new for me, but I know it will take a lot of pressure off me knowing that life will soon get busy. I have loved Christmas for as long as I could remember….We always went to church on Christmas Eve and when we returned home, it was time to open presents.  One year I carefully opened all of the presents, peeked inside and retaped the presents in order to see what I was getting.   My mom knew what I did, but didn’t confront me…she knew, as I soon found out, that I had spoiled the surprise for myself.  It was absolutely the most horrible Christmas I had endured for my entire 54 years.  In the years that followed I never tried to peek, even though I did my fair share of shaking the gifts, while weighing the possibilities of what wonders were wrapped up inside the boxes with my name on them.  One year Mom put our names on the wrong gifts in an attempt to fool us, and I spent quite a bit of time contemplating the contents of my sisters presents.  Awesome move mom!  We were punked, even though that term wasn’t used in the 60’s.

  During the holidays our home was beautifully decorated, warm and cozy.  There always seemed to be a continuous essence of baking cookies, candy being made, or chex mix in the oven, which made our home even more welcoming to those who visited.  We were a simple middle class, small town family, but at Christmas time I thought we were the wealthiest  family in town.  One year I got a 4 album set of the music of  Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.  I couldn’t believe my eyes…and then I realize that my parents had ordered it off of the TV.  I had seen that commercial a million times and never  dreamed that they would call in and order the set.  That was BIG 40 years ago!  I burned those albums UP!!!!!   One year my sisters and I all get these huge stuffed dogs….I was in high school at the time…..not really sure about that one though????  It didn’t matter, because even if there were no gifts under the tree, we still had the gift of loving parents and a wonderful life.  I miss my parents every day, but Christmas time seems to be the hardest. But they had instilled a great love for the season, both sacred and secular, and for that I will be grateful to them for the rest of my life.  Take time and enjoy the season, and give thanks for those blessings that have touched you this past year ♥

One response to “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

  1. Pingback: The Most Wonderful Time of the Year! « Shelly's Stories

Leave a Reply

