What Time Is It?

FOOD FOR THE SOUL


This picture of a deco clock  is how my body feels about time change since we “fell behind” early Sunday morning.  I suffer for about 2 weeks twice a year when we either “spring forward” or “fall behind”.  Apparently most of the northern hemisphere has been advancing the clocks in the spring since 1895, to allow more sunlight into the evening hours for sports, entertainment etc,  and to help save electricity in the evenings.  They say this idea was first proposed by Benjamin Franklin in the 1700’s.  Am I crazy, or didn’t they dine by candlelight back then?  Where’s the reasoning here?   I love the extra hours in the summer. It is so relaxing to be able to be outside until 9 o’clock, when it then gets dark and the mosquitos come out to feed.  The problem is that every spring I go through this dance in my head, and it continues for about 2 weeks.  I generally get up about 4:45 in the morning, (actually my feet hit the floor about 5), but that’s another story.  For 2 weeks I bug my co-workers…”What time am I getting up tomorrow?”  Am I really getting up at 3:45 in the morning?” “How in the world do people expect me to get up at 3:45 and function?”  I drive them nuts, because my biological clock can’t be adjusted in one night.  For 2 weeks I am cranky and tired and feel as if the world is against me.  I get to be angry because in my mind I know I am getting up at an ungodly hour, and therefore life is unfair in Shelly’s world.

 So 2 days ago we moved the clocks back to the original time…or was the spring the original time?  This confuses me too much…..Now it is dark at 5:30 and I want to cook supper at 4.  It was just 5 yesterday, so why shouldn’t my tummy be rumbling at 3:30?  See how confusing this is to my simple brain!  Then there are the looooonnnnnggggg evenings.  Here in the midwest, it is getting cold when the sun goes down.  There are no more evenings sitting on the patio reading, or swinging on the porch swing listening to the crickets.  Nope! We are stuck in the house, with all of the windows closed and are becoming stir crazy by early November. Sunday night my oldest was visiting from school, and she and Maddie were comfy in the living room, each reading a book.  I then trampsed through the living room, on my way upstairs with a basket of clothes and said “Come on Maddie, it’s time for bed.”  I knew she wasn’t happy, but followed my instructions and went to her room.  Stephanie then came into the hallway and said “Mom, it’s 8:45, why are you making her go to bed so early?’  Hmmmmm, in my mind it was 9:45, so it was time for bed, but how could I explain that without sounding like the menopausal mother I am?  I just looked at Steph and said “Because I’m tired, that’s why!”  Nice one momma Shelly,ugh…….. Last night I found myself sitting in front of the tv (which I never do in the summer) and fighting off sleep  like a boxer in the ring, until it was time to go to bed.  At that point I again begin the math in my head…”Ok, last night it was 10pm, so now it is 9pm, so can I go to bed yet?”  “No Shelly, it’s only 9pm according to the clock, so you will not be able to sleep all night if you go to bed before 10pm, which was 11pm last night.”  At this point I tell my mind to shut up and decide 10pm would be a wonderful time to retire, since I am actually getting up at 5:45am instead of 3:45am.  See it all makes sense in the end.  So my advice to my forefather Benjamin Franklin….go fly a kite ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

Cinnamon Rolls

1/2 cup warm water

2 pkgs active dry yeast (I use the rapid rise)

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 pkg ( 3.5 oz) instant vanilla pudding

2 cups of milk

1/2 cup butter, melted

2 eggs, beaten

2 tsp salt

8 cups flour

TOPPING:

1 cup butter, melted

2 cups brown sugar

2 Tablespoons cinnamon

FROSTING:

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups powdered sugar

1 Tablespoon milk

In a small bowl, mix warm water, yeast and sugar. Stir well and set to the side while you go to the next step.

 If the yeast if activated, there will be a foam on the surface and you will be able to smell the yeast.  If there’s no foam, do it over because your rolls won’t rise.

In a large bowl, mix the pudding with the milk and whisk until it starts to thicken.

Add the melted butter and eggs and mix well.

Add the yeast and salt and combine well.

Gradually add the flour and mix well, you will need to knead in the last 2 cups.   Knead until smooth.

Place in a greased bowl, flip the dough over so the top is now lightly greased, cover with the towel and place in a warm area to raise.

After about an hour, punch down , recover and let rise again for about 45 minutes. If your kitchen is cool, it make take longer to rise, so don’t panic.

After punching down for a second time, place dough on a lightly floured surface and roll out into a 34 x 21 inch  rectangle.

Spread the melted butter on the surface, sprinkle the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture on top of the butter.

Roll into a long log and section off 16 slices.  Cut with a sharp serrated knife to avoid tearing the dough.

Place 8 rolls into a greased 13x 9 inch pan, and repeat with the other 8.

Cover both pans and place in warm area to rise for about 45 minutes.

Bake for 15-20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

When cooled, beat frosting ingredients until fluffy and spread on the rolls.

The recipe is foolproof, don’t let it scare you, even if you have to do it a few times to get the feel for it.  There is nothing better than the smell of cinnamon rolls baking in the kitchen.  I challenge you to try it!

2 responses to “What Time Is It?

  1. Pingback: What Time Is It? « Shelly's Stories

Leave a Reply

