She said “YES TO THE DRESS”

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

  My daughter Katelyn said I needed to start writing some more funny blogs because I was losing my audience.  I think I have what writers (of which I am not) call writers block.  I just can’t think of any past bloopers in my life to write about, so I will write about my princess and her prince.  Katelyn is my third child, and my second daughter.  She works with me as a correctional health nurse, after graduating a few years ago.  She is always bubbly and happy and sometimes quite “over the top” when a decent human being wants to be in a bad mood.  Everybody loves Katie, and Katie loves everybody.  On the top of Katies list of people to love is her fiance Daryl.  They met several years ago at a wedding, he is from Indiana and she from Illinois, and the rest, as they say, was history.  There is a wedding now planned for September 21 of next year, which is also my mothers birthday.  It will indeed be a bittersweet day for me.

  Last Saturday she organized a shopping trip for the bridesmaids to look at possible dresses for the wedding.  I was working that day, but got a last-minute reprieve as a fellow nurse came in on her day off so I could go along too.  Three of her bridesmaids were there, along with Mary, my ex-husbands new wife.  I have to tell everyone that Mary and I get along splendidly, so we are there as a team for Kate, willing to do whatever is necessary.  There were dresses, upon dresses, upon dresses, and it soon became hard to remember who looked good in this, and who looked good in that.  It was all very confusing, not to mention 6 different opinions.  The girl helping us then suggested that Katie herself try on a few wedding dresses so she could try to match up styles with the bridesmaids, hopefully making the choice easier.   When Katelyn went that day, she had no idea she would try on a wedding dress.  She has been working out and dieting, and felt she wasn’t ready “to go there yet”…..but she went back in search for a “style” of dress.

  We all sat patiently on the couch, in front of the stage with the huge mirror, waiting for the unveiling of the first dress.  We sat chatting and discussing which bridesmaids dress was the best, etc when we heard the swooshing of fabric come around the corner of the mirror.  Here she came, beaming from ear to ear, and looking like the fairytale princess she is.  I began crying immediately and the others dropped their jaws, as we just stared at her in this dress. My oldest daughter is married, but she lives in Seattle, so I wasn’t there to see her when she tried on her dresses.  I do remember crying when I first saw her the day of the wedding though.  Katie then tried on about 5 or 6 other dresses, but that first one cinched it for her.  So she went from not even going to try on a dress, to purchasing the first dress she has ever tried on….funny how things work out.  I, and the others there that day, know that she make the right choice and will be stunning next September 21st.

  Since I can’t describe her dress for fear of being banned from the wedding, I will insert a picture from my own wedding many many years ago.  This has been a favorite picture of Katies, and it shows just how much styles have changed through the years.  There are not many dresses with the long trains anymore, and I don’t believe that many of the veils come over to slightly obscure the face.  I do remember being so shy walking down the aisle at the young age of  19.   I also remember how magical it was when my dad lifted the veil off of my face to give me a gentle kiss of the cheek, before passing my hand to my soon to be new husbands.  My mom did a lot of the planning for my wedding.  She even catered the meal, with church friends helping with the serving and clean up, since we had the reception in the basement of the church.  Even though things didn’t turn out like planned, I am glad I was blessed to experience that whole “wedding thing” and will do whatever I can to make my daughters experience as memorable as mine.  Good luck to Katie and Daryl….I know in my heart they will be fine.  And pass the Kleenex because if my reaction to the dress is any insight into the emotions of the wedding, I will need a few boxes ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

BBQ RIBS

Boneless beef or pork ribs

1 cup ketchup

1 cup water

1 stalk celery cut fine

2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 large onion, diced

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup vinegar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp paprika

1 clove garlic, minced fine

Dip ribs in skillet and brown on all sides

Place ribs in a dutch oven, mix remaining ingredients and pour over ribs.

Cover and bake an hour, or until tender, at 350 degrees

This was a favorite Sunday dinner meal at moms.  Serve with mashed potatoes and a veggie for a super meal!

4 responses to “She said “YES TO THE DRESS”

  1. Ok….I do understand the writers block thingy…..I myself call them black-outs….I black out when I have to cook, clean or do laundry! Ha! Love your stories!

  2. I enjoy your stories Shelly, and totally understand about the writers block. Please don’t pressure yourself to write let it come naturally. When you feel the urge then write something. I really enjoy your recipes that you ad at the bottom too. Thank you so much for sharing your life with us.
    Katie is such a sweetheart and such a blessing to everyone that knows her. She is so blessed to have you as her mother. I am so glad you were there to share in her special day of picking our her dress. Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

