Jesus Took the Wheel

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

  Yesterday could have been the last day of my life.  I was driving to work about 6:15 am and had a pick up truck pass me after it merged onto the interstate.  I am used to that because I drive a mere 5 miles over the speed limit, so even semi’s pass me.  Out of nowhere came a car wizzing past me at about 80 plus miles an hour.  Of course I have horrible road rage, even early in the darkness of the  morning.  As this car passed, I noticed the license plate was from out of state.  I may have mumbled something to the effect of “********** cheddar head”  as the car roared past me.  I am sorry you good people from the state of Wisconsin…..I love your state, and I visit there every summer, but you people need to slow down when passing through Illinois.  The car is now past me and parallel with the pickup truck that had previously passed me, and I was back to my mindless driving.  I then watched as the car slowly drove off of the road and into the ditch.  The driver must have fallen asleep because he or she didn’t even brake until they hit the ditch.  I then realize that I am coming up on this car that is spinning out of control in the ditch.  For what seemed like hours, we were side by side, with just the passing lane between us.  It then dawned on me that if that car came careening out of that ditch, I will most likely not survive the crash because the impact will be on my driver’s door.  At one point the headlights seemed to be coming towards me, but then the car continued the spinout.  Then the car came to a rest and I noted the blinkers and the dome light on.  The pick up truck that was ahead of me had stopped, so I continued on to work.  I was so shook up that I too had to pull over about 10 miles down the road when I realize that my daughter met me on the stairs at 5:3o am that day, and gave me a kiss goodbye.  She is never awake at that time of the day, plus it was a Saturday.  It struck me that our interaction that morning could have been her last memory of me.

  My point of this blog is: 1) Don’t ever take life for granted.  We just assume that we are all going to live long enough to retire and sit in our rocking chairs on the porch.  Maybe not!

                                                    2) Don’t go to bed mad at those you love.  Maddie and I had a disagreement about homework the night before, and we were both not speaking.  We talked it out before she went to bed, and both slept better because of it.

                                                    3) Please slow down to a reasonable speed.  I am pretty sure the driver simply fell asleep at the wheel.  Your body sends you signals that you are too tired to drive. Get out, walk around, have a cup of coffee, blare the music, turn on the air conditioner full blast, take a short nap….just listen to your what your body is telling you.  In the end, if you arrive a little late, but arrive alive, we are all winners.

                                                    4)  Try not to put off doing those things that need to be done, even if it is telling a co-worker they are a pleasure to work with, or telling your children that they are the best gift ever given to you, or tell your family how much they mean to you.

                                                     5) Forgive those who have wronged you….make room in your heart for peace and love….not hatred and spite.

   I am probably making too much out of my “near miss”, but that “near miss” again reminded me that life is precious.  I have a guardian angel trinket that I received from a secret pal at church last year, and it hangs from my rear view mirror.  That angel surrounded my car with an unseen force field that morning.  If you have a bucket list, go ahead and start checking those things off that you have listed.  If you don’t have one, then it’s about time you wrote out those things you would like to do while taking space up on this good earth.  I wrote a blog earlier this week about how I tried to avoid my birthday, only to have friends and family make it a truly special day for me.  The night of the “near miss” I celebrated a second birthday with 2 of my daughters, and I will tell you that I welcomed that cake and amazing evening with those I loved.  Never again will I complain because I turned another year older!  I will try to remember to thank God for the gift of another birthday ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

Five Cup Salad

1 cup miniature marshmallows

1 cup pineapple tidbits

1 cup sour cream

1 cup coconut

1 cup mandarin oranges

Mix all ingredients and chill.

One response to “Jesus Took the Wheel

  1. 1st – so glad you are okay. driving the interstate all these year, you sure do see a lot, a lot of too fast drivers (from WI and MN). i often worry that someone will cross the ditch and hit me. i have seen so many sliding winter accidents where people pass you then up the road they slide off. I always say outloud, that curve up there is slick you know! Like they can hear me or would listen! 2nd – thanks for making me cry again today!

Leave a Reply

