Take a Seat Please

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

  “Back in the day”…as I say to my kids, we would go to my parents house for Sunday dinner after church.  Often times in the fall, we would stay for the day while the kids took naps in the afternoon, and stay for supper too.  A real treat was when we decided to have a “weenie roast” for supper.  Dad would build a fire in the makeshift fire pit and we would have hot dogs, baked beans, chips, and moms famous texas sheet cake.  Sometimes we would have the “fixins” for smores too.  I have never been a fan of smores….but texas sheet cake..Yummy in my tummy!  There is nothing tastier than a hot dog roasted over a fire, topped with ketchup and baked beans.  Try it sometime, baked beans on top of a hot dog is wacky but terrific!  After we were done eating, we would just sit around the fire and relax, telling our stories of the previous week.  We also spent time yelling at the kids, who just had to throw a little twig or leaf into the fire…getting closer and closer with each toss.  I think sitting around a fire on a cool fall evening is one of my top 5 things to do to relax.

  One problem was finding a chair to sit around the fire and relax in.  If we knew ahead of time about the weenie roast we would bring our lawn chairs.  If not, it was a wild and crazy race to the packed garage to find something to sit on.  I had a favorite old rusted metal lawn chair that I would climb over adults and children alike to get to.  It just seemed to fit my be-donk-e-donk the best and I felt it was mine.  One Sunday, about 15 years ago judging by the huge glasses I had on in the picture, I sat comfortably waiting for the fire to get hot enough to begin the roasting of the weenies.  I knew the chair was rusted, especially the curved legs, but I just thought it gave the chair some character.  I was talking and laughing when I began to feel myself slowly tip backwards.  I didn’t pay too much attention until those around me started seeing me edge into a horizontal position, sinking at a snails pace towards the ground. The legs were giving up and were folding in on themselves. I remember giggling and saying ‘I’m going….I’m going…”  until I eventually  ended up with my back on the ground and my legs in the air, still hanging over the seat of the chair.  Now, this was before the age of everyone having a cell phone, so my sister ran into the house to get the camera.  I became the floor show before the dinner that night, and the camera flashes were coming fast and furious.  So I figured that I may as well make the best of it, and did what any lady would do in that situation….I crossed my legs and smiled ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

My moms famous Texas Sheet Cake

Boil together:

2 stick oleo

4 Tbsp. Cocoa

1 cup water

Add to dry ingredients below and beat well:

2 cup flour

2 cups sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. vanilla

When mixed well, pour into a 15 x 10 x 1 inch jelly roll pan that has been sprayed with Pam.

Bake 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted off- center comes out clean.

Frosting

1 stick oleo

4 Tbsp. Cocoa

6 Tbsp. milk

Add to:

1 pound powdered sugar and 2 tsp vanilla. (will seem runny)

Fr0st cake while hot.

(can also add chopped pecans to frosting if you wish)

Leave a Reply

