The Power of Music

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

For as long as I can remember music has been part of my life.  From the time of being rocked and having a lullaby sung to me, until today, music has been as wonderful to me as life itself.  When I began school, I also began piano lessons.  I wasn’t as dedicated as I should have been, but after about 7 years of lessons, I could play a decent piece of music.  Reading music always came easily to me, and I could never understand why some people just couldn’t learn how to play.  Eventually it was decided that I would follow in the footsteps of my mom and Aunt Doris and begin playing the organ in church.  The only problem is that I didn’t realize that was the plan until I had “moved up” to learning how to play the organ.  I joke that Mrs. Klickman was the only person alive that I allowed to call me Michelle….and I can’t tell you how many times she smacked the palms of my hands with a ruler if I let my hands rest on the keyboard.  I endured and learned how to not only move both hands but both feet at the same time, plus work the pedals to adjust the volume.  The day came that I was introduced to the pipe organ at church and had to also learn how to work the “stops” to make the most beautiful music come to life (if I was lucky)

In high school it was band and chorus and musicals and choir at church and singing loudly in the car while cruising main street with my besties.  In high school you have the “fight song” that is played before games and it special to your school only.  During the July 4th, we celebrate with “The Star Spangled Banner”.  After Desert Storm, the song that would swell your heart with pride was “I”m Proud to be an American” by Lee Greenwood.  After the tragedy of 9-11 we got all fired up when we heard “Courtesy of the Red White and Blue” by Toby Keith.  On Christmas Eve the special song sung throughout churches in America is “Silent Night.”  My three oldest kids had piano lessons and again there was band, chorus, musicals, singing in church, and singing loudly going down the road with everybody in the car.  The kids say one of their favorite memories as a child was standing and singing around the piano as I played whatever song they requested.  (and let me tell you, some nights I felt like I took 7 encores) It hit me tonight that there is such power associated with music.  When we marry, we look for that special song.  When I married in 1978 the chosen songs were “The Wedding Song” and “We’ve Only Just Begun”.  When my son Jonathan was buried, I wanted Al Beckman to sing “I am Jesus Little Lamb.”   When my dad died I wanted to song “Praise You in This Storm” by Casting Crowns.  When my daughter got married her wedding dance was “Lets Stay Together” by Al Green.  For me, the music is on in the car, on when I am on the computer, on when I take a bath, on when I clean…..I guess I would rather listen to music than watch tv.

I personally have songs that will bring a smile to my face such as “Precious and Few”, ” I Will Always Love You”, “Baby Elephant Walk” (don’t ask) and “We are Poor Little Lambs” from White Christmas.  I want “What a Wonderful World” played at my funeral, and have made myself very clear to everyone…along with the threat that I will come back and haunt them if my wishes are not carried out 🙂  Songs that will make me tear up include “You Were Always on my Mind”, “Beautiful Savior”, “I Cross my Heart” by George Strait and “Then” by Brad Paisley.   Where would we be without music?  Just sit and think about how it has touched your life. What  are your favorites, what songs make you smile, make you cry?  All I know is that now that I am single,  I guess my new favorite song will be “It’s Raining Men” by the Weather girls!

FOOD FOR THE BODY

Whipping Cream Frosting

4 Tbsp. flour

1 cup milk

1/2 cup oleo or butter

1/2 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

Mix flour and milk together.  Cook on low until thickened. Allow to cool.

Cream butter and shortening for 4 minutes.

Add sugar gradually and beat again for 4 minutes.

Add the flour paste and beat for 4 more minutes.

Add vanilla and mix in.

Great on chocolate cake or cupcakes.

2 responses to “The Power of Music

  1. Excellent blog….just want to make one correction so the artist gets the credit and because it is one of my favorites…..”Praise You In The Storm” is actually by Casting Crowns and not Creed.

Leave a Reply

