Blessings in Tiny Packages

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

Over 3 years ago my son and daughter in law Kristi shared the news that I was going to be a grandmother.  I wondered how that could possibly happen, I mean, I still had a 10 year old at home?  I declared right away to everyone that I would not be called “grandma”, but “nonnie”….because to me I picture a grandma as someone who is short, wears a house coat, has curly grey permed hair and drives a Buick.  I was asked if I wanted to be there when my first granddaughter, Alexis Lynn, was born and I felt honored.  This was such a special time between 2 people who loved each other, and I wondered if I would be an intrusion?  They assured me that I wouldn’t, and when February 10, 2010 arrived, that much awaited call came.  Luckily for me,  I was off work, and I made the over to Peoria, dodging patches of packed snow and the occasional nasty area of black ice.  I  arrived in plenty of time and began the wait with Rick, and Kristis mom Pam.  I can’t even explain the thoughts and questions that went through my  mind while I was waiting… will mother and baby come through this unscathed,  had Ricks dad been a good enough role model for my son be a good dad,  have I taught him what he needs to know about being a supportive husband if Kristi becomes tired and overwhelmed ( as all new moms are),  and even said a little prayer for God to let my parents look down and see this baby child arrive on this earth.  I also sat quietly and remembered the birth of my children and how scared I was when I realized that I was responsible for these precious lives that I had been blessed with.   When the time came for Kris to push, we assumed our positions and did whatever we had to do to support her.  Sometimes it involved giving words of support, sometimes it involved just standing there quietly, this was her moment and she would get  whatever she needed.  The time had come and after the final push….there she was…..totally perfect…totally beautiful, and totally loved.  The feelings were just overwhelming and I found myself crying like that little baby who is now being carefully checked over….

Less that 2 years later the scenario was repeated as Lillian  Grace came into this world.  I arrived right after she was born.  I had to work and couldn’t leave until my replacement arrived.  The feelings were the same as when Lexi was born, and I was once again in awe at this tiny life.  I personally think they are the most beautiful little girls in the world and can’t wait until Lexi, Lilly and Nonnie can have sleepovers and shopping trips and cooking lessons.  It is true that a child is Gods proof that life must go on.  My son and daughter in law had first met at the same base in Iraq…..she an MP in the Army, and he part of security forces in the Air Force.  They each finished their tours and returned to the states at separate times, thinking they would never see each other again.   As is turns out, they met again, at a party thrown by Ricks friend.  In walks Kristi, who happened to be a cousin of Ricks friends girlfriend.  It turns out they had grown up about 30 miles from each other.  The rest is history, so they say….and now here they were, about to begin one of the toughest, most fulfilling, joyous, sometimes frustrating job of their lives….parenthood.  If they thought dodging bullets and getting mortared on a daily basis was rough….just remember that those days may be a walk in the park once these two beautiful souls reach dating age.  ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

NONNIES SUGAR COOKIES

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup oil

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

 1 tsp vanilla

     1 tsp each  soda, salt and cream of tartar

4 cups flour

 Cream together the first 4 ingredients

 Add the eggs and vanilla, mix well

 Sift dry ingredients together and add to above.

                  Chill dough until firm.  Form into balls, dip in sugar, and press balls down with a glass dipped in sugar.

           Bake 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until slightly browned around edges.

     Do not overbake…they are tender and melt are  in your mouth goodness ♥

4 responses to “Blessings in Tiny Packages

  1. Now wait a minute u make being short, having grey hair and driving a Buick is a bad thing! Love the story! And love being a grandma!

  2. This made me cry. I was so glad that you said yes to being in the room when the girls were born. I know some daughter in laws won’t do that but I believe in sharing my experience with both of my moms. I’m glad we have a good relationship that I can come to you when I need to. Sleep overs at Nonnies whenever your ready.

Leave a Reply

