Always Look At Your Feet

FOOD FOR THE SOUL

When I first got married and moved to town, I found it was hard to figure out a way to fit in.  This was a new town, with people I didn’t know, and I had few friends here.  I started nurses training shortly after I got married, so that kept me busy for the most part, but I didn’t know where to meet people.  Eventually someone invited me to try out for the local community singing group.  As I mentioned before, I was a proud band and chorus geek, so this really sounded sweet to me.  I auditioned, and was accepted to join the group, The Village Aires.  I soon had  many new friends and was felt right at home.  The group performs 2 shows a year, one in the spring and one at Christmas.  Now, we are not Broadway performers by any means, but can hold our own, so to speak.  One thing that is drilled lovingly into your head is that no matter what happens on stage, you must stay in character.  You can not by any means grimice if you sing the wrong word in a solo, laugh is someone makes a mistake and above all, don’t break into the giggles.  You know how it is when you are in church and maybe someone near you falls asleep or passes gas, and sometimes you just can’t help it, you have to giggle.  That giggle then spreads to those around you, until they too are giggling, and then whole pew is rockin.  Trust me when I tell you that there are times on stage when it takes everything in your power to remain professional.

During one show we had so many costume changes that the ladies had to set up a dressing area behind the stage.  There was no time between songs to run to the band room to make the necessary changes, to it was decided men to change on one side, and ladies on the other side.  They brought in a large round clothes rack for us, and we all picked a section of the rack to put all of your costume changes and shoes.  We are now at the point in the show when the men are on stage and we need to quickly change dresses, shoes and what ever else was scheduled for that section of the show.  For this show we needed brown and bone colored dress shoes to complete our attire.  Now, I am a nurse, and therefore live in scrubs most of my life, except on Sundays when I had a few nice outfits.  I think I had 3 kids at that time, so there wasn’t  a lot of extra money, so I went to K-mart and bought 2 pairs of identical dress shoes, one in brown and one in bone.  (Do they even make “bone” colored shoes anymore?  Do they even have the color “bone” anymore?)  So in the dark recesses of the area behind the stage  we quickly change into our outfits, change shoes, and head back onto stage for our number.  We lovely ladies are sitting in a row, watching intently on the soloist and I happen to look down at my feet.  For the love of Mike….I have a bone and a brown shoe on…and I just stare at my feet as if they have betrayed me.  Of course I can’t just sit there professionally and wait until the song is over to sneak off stage and get the right shoe…Nope not me…I begin quietly giggling….I can’t help it…..it is something that only I could do.  So I then do the next adult thing I can think of…I nudge Tracy, who is sitting quietly next to me and aim my eyes downward towards my feet, moving them out in front of me ever so slightly so she can see my new pair of shoes too.  That’s all it took, it was like a domino effect, and soon about 8 of us were trying to stifle giggles.  The bad thing was, they were filming the show, and the camera focused at me and then went down the line giving the director proof that we had lost it.   What I didn’t realize at the time is that I had a pair of shoes just like it behind stage…hehehehehe  ♥

FOOD FOR THE BODY

ANTIPASTO SALAD

This is one of my favorite dishes to pass at our “after the final show”  party.  This is a double recipe.

Add the following to a large serving bowl:

2 bags Monas Tortellini (one cheese and one meat) cooked and drained (really any brand will do, I just like Monas)

Large bottle Italian Dressing

 1 pkg Pepperoni (I cut each one in half)

1 small bottle green olives (sliced in half)

2 cups grated Parmesan cheese

You can add chopped green, red or orange peppers, and onion if you like the flavor  (I am not a fan)

Mix all of the ingredients in a large bowl, and chill for a few hours.  It is really good if you refrigerate overnight, stirring a few times.

You really can’t have too little or too much of each item…thats why I love this recipe…go by your taste.

Leave a Reply

