THE LIST

This week “THE LIST” came in the mail…the school supply list.  Off we go to Pontiac to Walmart with “THE LIST” and a very excited soon to be 8th grader.  We were able to secure all of the items on “THE LIST” plus I caved in and allowed a matching locker mirror, pen holder, dry erase board and a wire thing that unfolds to give an extra shelf on the bottom of the locker.  I was proclaimed “the best mom in the whole wide world” and off we went to the check out.  As I was standing there watching the total getting close to $100.00, it hit me that I had been buying school supplies every year for the last 27 or so years…..how can that be?  I now reflect, with a lump in my throat, on those years when all of “my chickens” were home and we made the same trip every year, be it for preschool, grade school, junior high, high school or college.  I remember we would  haul in a plethora (my favorite word) of bags and the kids would sit in a circle, split up pencils, paper, etc….. making sure to carefully write their names on everything in  magic marker.   The newly named supplies then went neatly in the book bags and were put in a corner for the first day of school.  This year there is only one Butler chicken left to get supplies, but the joy I felt when I saw  the smile on her face when I told her she can have a $2.98 mirror for her locker makes me look forward to many more years of “THE LIST”…..

PS…she just yelled from the living room (where the supplies are being marked and put into the new book bag) “I love you mom, you don’t know how much easier you made my life by getting this new shelf”.  It’s the little things I guess….

6 responses to “THE LIST

  1. This just brought tears to my eyes. I remember marking all of my stuff with the older two. I also remember that feeling of having the best mom in the world when i was allowed to get the latest lisa frank stuff. Thanks for the memory mom. 🙂

  2. Shelly this brought tears to my eyes.. I loved getting my school supplies as a kid and just a few day ago I bought Kindergarten Supplies for my “Baby” time does fly… enjoy every day!!

  3. love it! jan – i’ll double check with glenn but i am thinking he will say it is okay for you to take one of both of our girls and buy their school supplies! lol

Leave a Reply

